My Journey Into Technical Writing

My Journey Into Technical Writing

Technical writing involves providing detail-oriented instruction to help users understand a specific skill or product. In technical writing, the author writes about a particular subject that requires direction, instruction, or explanation. This style of writing is tactical, it has a specific purpose and has different characteristics from other types of writing.

As a student with zero tech background, I'm in a process of testing the waters of different aspects of tech. As a result, I'm very open to trying out different aspects before finally sticking with one. Luckily, my friend told me about a technical writing bootcamp tagged LearnCamp 1.0 and what they have to offer. I decided to register and here I am writing my first article!😊

What is LearnCamp 1.0?

LearnCamp 1.0 is a program put in place by TechieCognito to provide support and mentorship for tech talents to begin or scale up their careers. LearnCamp is organized by a community of tech-savvy youths called TechieCognito.

What is TechieCognito?

TechieCognito is a non-profit organization with the sole aim of discovering and empowering tech talents in Africa. They groom beginners and get them equipped with the skills, knowledge, and experience they need to thrive in the large tech space.

Sneak peek into LearnCamp 1.0

LearnCamp 1.0 is grouped into the following tracks:

•Technical writing track

• Front-end web development track

•Android development track

This mentorship program will last for three months and within this period, every mentee will go through a series of training related to the track they selected.

Each track has a mentor that does a good job of making learning resources available and also giving tasks to put into practice what is learned every week.

How LearnCamp 1.0 has been so far

I selected the Technical writing track because I felt it is a more subtle way to get to understand and adapt to the dynamics of the technology world. Since I have no background in tech, I didn't want to dive into something that would end up being overwhelming and too tactical for my baby steps.

With the resources provided by my mentor, I've scaled up my knowledge of writing. I have learned some of the dos and don'ts of technical writing.

It has only been a few weeks since the program kicked off and I can say that LearnCamp is beginner-friendly. I am taught the rudiments of technical writing in the most basic manner, and this, I appreciate.

Conclusion

In the next few weeks, I'd be learning how to write better and most importantly- technically, not just for fun. I intend to enjoy every phase of this training and become your fascinating technical writer.